Friday, April 25, 2014

Finalists - British Blues Awards 2014 - Full List

This is the full list of the finalists in this year's British Blues Awards - which opens for the public vote on May 1st  - with those who have played at the Hebden festival marked out.

As you will see, there are no less than SIXTY nominations for THE HEBDEN FAMILY!

(It's also worth noting that Dani Wilde and Will Wilde, while not having played at the festival "proper" yet, did come and do a warm up gig for us with Todd Sharpville in March, so are also part of the tribe. That would bring it up to 62!)

Male Vocalist of the Year

Alan Nimmo - King King, The Nimmo Brothers
Aynsley Lister (HBBF13)
Bluesboy Dan Owen (HBBF13)
David Migden - Dirty Words / Twisted Roots (HBBF14)
Hugh Coltman - The Hoax
Marcus Bonfanti - Jawbone, Boom Band, Ten Years After plus others (HBBF11, HBBF12, HBBF13)

Female Vocalist of the Year

Connie Lush - Blues Shouter
Dani Wilde 
Jo Harman (HBBF13)
Kyla Brox (HBBF13)
Lorna Fothergill - Northsyde (HBBF13, HBBF14)
Zoe Schwarz - Blue Commotion (HBBF14)

Blues Band of the Year

Brothers Groove
King King
Larry Miller Band (HBBF11)
Northsyde (HBBF13, HBBF14)
The Hoax
The Nimmo Brothers

Harmonica Player of the Year

Alan Glen
Giles King
Giles Robson - Dirty Aces
Paul Lamb - Kingsnakes
Steve West Weston
Trevor Steger - Babajack (HBBF12)
Will Wilde

Guitarist of the Year

Alan Nimmo - King King, The Nimmo Brothers
Aynsley Lister (HBBF13)
Chantel McGregor (HBBF11)
Joel Fisk - LaVendore Rogue, Wolfpack plus Others (HBBF13)
Jon Amor - The Hoax, The Boom Band (HBBF11)
Jules Fothergill - Northsyde (HBBF13, HBBF14)

Acoustic Act of the Year of the Year

Babajack (HBBF12)
Blues Boy Dan Owen (HBBF13)
Half Deaf Clatch (HBBF14)
Kyle and Moore
Marcus Bonfanti (HBBF11, HBBF12, HBBF13)
Wooden Horse (HBBF13)

Bass Player of the Year

Derek White - Larry Miller Band, Storm Warning (HBBF11)
Ian Mauricio - Northsyde (HBBF13, HBBF14)
John Dawson - Russ Tippins Band (HBBF12, HBBF13, HBBF14)
Lindsay Coulson - King King
Roger Inniss
Trev Turley - Bare Bones Boogie Band (HBBF12, HBBF14)

Keyboard Player of the Year

Bennett Holland
Charlotte Joyce - Ron Sayer Band (HBBF13)
Dale Storr
Paddy Milner - Jawbone, The Boom Band + Others (HBBF11, HBBF12, HBBF13)
Paul Jobson
Steve Watts - Jo Harman and Company (HBBF13)

Drummer of the Year

Dave Raeburn
Hayden Doyle - Northsyde (HBBF13, HBBF14)
Mark Barrett - The Hoax, The Blues Boy Kings (HBBF13, HBBF14)
Martin Johnson - Jo Harman and Company (HBBF13)
Sam Kelly
Stephen Cutmore - LaVendore Rogue plus Others
Wayne Proctor - King King plus Others

Instrumentalist of the Year

Becky Tate - Percussion - Babajack (HBBF12)
Carla Viegas - Percussion - Rabbit Foot (HBBF12, HBBF13)
Kyla Brox - Flute (HBBF13)
Sarah Skinner - Sax - Red Dirt Skinners (HBBF12, HBBF14)
Simon Anthony Dixon - Sax - The Stumble
Yoka Qureshi-Kuiper - Flute and Sax - Little Devils (HBBF14)

Young Artist of the Year

Alex McKown (HBBF13, HBBF14)
Blues Boy Dan Owen (HBBF13)
Laurence Jones
Lewis Hamilton (HBBF12, HBBF14)
Lucy Zirins (HBBF12, HBBF13)
Tom Gee (HBBF14)

Overseas Artist of the Year

Buddy Whittington
Henrik Freischlader
JJ Grey And Mofro
Paul Lamb And The Detroit Breakdown (HBBF11, HBBF13, HBBF14)
Royal Southern Brotherhood
Walter Trout

Independent Broadcaster of the Year

Ashwyn Smyth - Digital Blues
Dave Raven - Raven And The Blues (HBBF13, HBBF14)
Dave Watkins - Blues And Roots (HBBF14)
Gary Grainger - The Blues Show (HBBF13, HBBF14)
Kevin Beale - Blues On The Marsh
Tim Aves - The Blues Is Back (HBBF13)

Blues Album of the Year

Big City Blues - The Hoax
Home - Aynsley Lister Band (HBBF13)
Independence - Trevor Sewell Band (HBBF13, HBBF14)
Shake The Walls - Marcus Bonfanti (HBBF11, HBBF12, HBBF13)
Standing In The Shadows - King King
The Storytellers Daughter - Northsyde (HBBF13, HBBF14)

Blues Song of the Year

A Long History Of Love - King King
Cheap Whisky - Marcus Bonfanti (HBBF11, HBBF12, HBBF13)
Home - Aynsley Lister (HBBF13)
Hipslicker - The Hoax
Just One More Day - Mark Pontin Group (HBBF14)
Train - Trevor Sewell (HBBF13, HBBF14)

Kevin Thorpe Award for Songwriter of the Year

Aynsley Lister (HBBF13)
Half Deaf Clatch (HBBF14)
Jo Harman And Mike Davies (HBBF13)
Lucy Zirins (HBBF12, HBBF13)
Richard Townend (HBBF13, HBBF14)
Trevor Sewell (HBBF13, HBBF14)

Emerging Artist of the Year

Brothers Groove
Gary Grainger (HBBF13, HBBF14)
Half Deaf Clatch (HBBF14)
King Size Slim
Mark Pontin Group (HBBF14)
Thomas Ford

Blues Festival of the Year

Broadstairs Blues Bash
Blues On The Farm
Carlisle Rock And Blues Festival
Ealing Blues Festival
Great British Rhythm And Blues Festival Colne
Hebden Bridge Blues Festival - WINNERS 2012 and 2013

Related Links

Partner Links